Breakfasts on intermittent fasting

On the intermittent fasting (5:2) diet breakfasts fall into two distinct categories. Fast day breakfasts, and non-fast day breakfasts.

Fast day breakfasts

Porridge. About a tablespoon of oats, pinch of salt, water. Microwave, stir, microwave.

90 calories, approx. Which leaves 410 calories for the rest of the day.

Things you can put in porridge which don’t add calories but which make it taste a bit more tasty: cinnamon, artificial sweetener, ground cardamom seeds, allspice, vanilla essence.

Non-fast day breakfasts

For normal days I have a “normal breakfast” which for me is a bowl of muesli or porridge.

On fast days I quite like to prepare the following day’s breakfast the evening before so I know I’m going to wake up to something nice and healthy and not get tempted out to a cafe. So I’ve been eating a lot of Bircher Muesli or overnight oats: my version uses approximately equal quantities of oats, (soya) yoghurt, and (soya) milk stirred up and left in the fridge overnight so the oats soak it all up. Add fruit and stuff to taste – my current fave is a grated apple and some cinnamon, using almond flavoured soya yoghurt.

yogoatsCatastrophe day breakfasts

This month has not been the best for sticking to the diet or indeed sticking to anything. SO there have been a couple of post-fast-days where I’ve woken up and then gone into town for a fry up.

I am therefore able to confirm that Sophie’s cafe still does a great veggie breakfast.

Leave a comment